The Duke of Edinburgh award is a flexible award created by HRH Duke of Edinburgh in 1956 to help develop young people and prepare them for life and work. 


The award currently has four stages: 

- Bronze

- Silver

- Gold

- Diamond 


Each stage increases in difficulty, with the people who pass Gold and Diamond earning themselves a trip to Buckingham Palace to be awarded with it.