Everyone in the Air Cadets (and the RAF) can be identified by the badges of rank that they wear. This list of basic adult and cadet ranks will help you identify them. The list starts with adults (instructors and senior staff) followed by cadet ranks, with the most senior in each group at the top.


Officer ranks

  • Wing Commander

  • Squadron Leader

  • Flight Lieutenant

  • Flying Officer

  • Pilot Officer

  • Officer Cadet


Non-commissioned Officer ranks

  • Warrant Officer

  • Flight Sergeant

  • Sergeant


Cadet Non-commissioned Officer (NCO) ranks

  • Cadet Warrant Officer

  • Cadet Flight Sergeant

  • Cadet Sergeant

  • Cadet Corporal

  • Cadet Junior Corporal - CCF (RAF) only